what states allow 16 year olds to donate blood

by Rickey Senger 4 min read

Many states, including Maryland and Virginia, allow 16-year-olds to donate with a parent's consent (in D.C., you can give at age 17 without parental consent); kids that age give about 8 percent of all the whole blood donated to the Red Cross.

Full Answer

Can a 17 year old donate blood in the US?

16 year olds to donate with parental consent. Enacted April 2009 . Missouri Mo. Code § 431.068 17/16 . In Missouri, 16 year olds shall be eligible to donate blood with parental consent. Montana In Montana, 17 year olds may donate blood with parental United Blood Services Standard . 1. 18/17 . consent. Nebraska** Neb. Rev. Stat. § 71-4808 17/16

How old do you have to be to donate blood in Georgia?

states have established a minimum age limit of 16 years for blood donation. Certain states for example Connecticut, Delaware, Florida, and New Mexico require a

What is the age of consent to donate blood?

You must be at least 17 years old to donate to the general blood supply, or 16 years old with parental/guardian consent, if allowed by state law. There is no upper age limit for blood donation as long as you are well with no restrictions or limitations to your activities. In-Depth Discussion of Age and Blood Donation.

Can my child become a blood donor?

Virginia and North Carolina join at least 18 other states that allow 16-year-olds to give blood, said Kristen Hatfield, spokeswoman for the Mid-Atlantic Blood Services Region of the American Red ...

image

Can I give blood at 16 in the US?

You must be at least 17 years old to donate to the general blood supply, or 16 years old with parental/guardian consent, if allowed by state law. There is no upper age limit for blood donation as long as you are well with no restrictions or limitations to your activities.

What is the youngest age you can donate blood?

Be in good general health and feeling well. Be at least 17 years old in most states (16 years old with parental consent in some states).

Can a 16 year old donate blood in Florida?

How old do you have to be to donate blood? In the United States, you can donate blood starting at the age of 16, provided you have your parents' permission. At age 17, you can donate without a parents' permission. This means that if you are old enough to drive, you are old enough to donate blood.Oct 15, 2019

Can a 16 year old donate blood in VA?

The new law will allow 16-year-olds to participate, too. "It's to start them off at an earlier age," Hatfield said. The Red Cross estimates that the lowered age requirement will bring in about 6,000 more blood donations a year in Virginia.Aug 30, 2008

Who Cannot donate blood?

Persons with the following conditions are not allowed to donate blood anyime:Cancer.Cardiac disease.Sever lung disease.Hepatitis B and C.HIV infection, AIDS or Sexually Transmitted Diseases (STD)High risk occupation (e.g. prostitution)Unexplained weight loss of more than 5 kg over 6 months.Chronic alcoholism.More items...

Is there a weight limit for donating blood?

Blood donation requirements Be healthy and not suffering from a cold, flu or other illness at the time of donation. Be aged between 18 and 75 years (other rules may apply if you are a current donor). Weigh at least 50kg. Have normal temperature and blood pressure.

Why do you have to be 110 lbs to donate blood?

Weight: You must weigh at least 110 pounds to be eligible for blood donation for your own safety. Blood volume is in proportion to body weight. Donors who weigh less than 110 pounds may not tolerate the removal of the required volume of blood as well as those who weigh more than 110 pounds.

Can you donate blood on your period?

You can safely donate blood during your period if it is required and your period will not be affected by the donation. It may be better to donate the week after periods, but it is still manageable if you are not bleeding heavily, your haemoglobin is more than 11 g/dl and you are not in any discomfort or pain.Jun 14, 2020

How old do you have to be to donate blood in NY?

16 years oldBlood donors must be at least 16 years old, weigh at least 110 pounds, and not have donated blood within the last 56 days. Sixteen year olds must present a signed parental permission form.

How old do you have to be to donate blood in Texas?

Is there a minimum or maximum age limit on donating blood? Donors must be at least 18 years old (16 and 17 year olds must have written parental consent). There is no upper age limit.

Can you donate blood at 17 in Michigan?

To donate blood, you must: Be at least 17 years old.

What are the requirements for donating blood?

Basic requirement of a potential blood donor:Weight: At least 110 lbs (50 kg).Blood volume collected will depend mainly on you body weight.Pulse rate: Between 60 and 100 beats/minute with regular rhythm.Blood pressure: Between 90 and 160 systolic and 60 and 100 diastolic.Hemoglobin: At least 125 g/L.